New Phone?

Ever since the launch of the IPhone at Macworld 2007, I really wanted to get one. But with all the great features, impressive hardware, and beautiful interface comes many shortcomings. The lack of 3G, GPS, or 3.5 mm jack annoyed me the most. I thought I could live without these features and decided to buy one. After two weeks of waiting for a software unlock for the phone and with no unlock in sight I decided to return the phone.

Now its been three weeks since I purchased the IPhone and 1 week since I returned it, Apple announced a 16GB version of the phone last week and 3 days later, IPhone hacking genius Geohot finally released a software unlock for the phone. I really wanted the new 16gb IPhone and even considered getting the phone this weekend, but I didn’t.

The reason?

Because Apple takes its sweet ass time in giving people what they want and also trying to milk what’s already out there for all it’s worth. They delayed and now other companies are starting to catch up. I will still wait for the end of February to make a decision on a new phone. Sources say that Apple will be having an event either February 20th or 26th and in that event, it is possible for Apple to announce some new products, the SDK for the IPhone, and drop the current IPhone prices by $100 and possibly announce the next generation IPhone 2.0.

In the meantime, other companies have caught up. these are some of the next generation of IPhone Killers I am considering.

1. Sony Xperia X1 —- More pictures

se-x1picture-2241jan08-440.jpg

Some of the specs include: GSM/Edge, 3G 850 / 1900 / 2100, VGA Screen 800 x 480 VGA Touch Screen, Full QWERTY sliding keyboard, WIFI, Bluetooth, aGPS, Windows Mobile 6, microSD slot, 3.2 Megapixel Camera, etc.

2. E-Ten Glofiish V900

197920.jpg

Some of the specs include: GSM/Edge/3G, memory slots, Bluetooth, WIFI, 480 x 640 VGA touchscreen, 3 Megapixel camera, GPS, and live digital TV broadcasting T-DMB/DAB/DVB-T/DVB-H tuner.

Once again, decisions and decisions.